skip to primary navigationskip to content


For the Department news archive click here

News  2013:

J. RabyPart II student Jonathan Raby published in Physiology News.

Congratulations to Jonathan Raby who having received a Vacation Studentship from The Physiological Society to work in Dr. Ewan Smith’s lab in summer 2013 was selected to report on his experience in the recent edition of Physiology News (P51).


Prof. taylor

Laura Nadine Schuhmacher receives David James Studentship.

Congratulations to who, as part of the Cambridge BBSRC DTP, has been awarded the Department of Pharmacology David James Studentship. During his life, Dr David James was a much-loved and well-respected departmental administrator at the Department of Pharmacology; today his legacy continues to make a difference to the work of the Department and Laura has received this award in recognition of her excellent achievement, within the BBSRC DTP programme, in the field of Pharmacology. She is pursuing her PhD in Dr. Ewan Smith’s laboratory in the Department  where she is studying the molecular mechanisms by which sensory neurones detect noxious stimuli and in particular how acid activates nociceptors in both physiological and pathophysiological states. 

Prof. taylor

Prof. Colin Taylor elected to Academia Europaea.

The Academy of Europe includes leading experts from the physical sciences and technology, biological sciences and medicine, mathematics, the letters and humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics and law. Colin was one of eight UK biologists elected this year.


Prof. taylor

Prof. Colin Taylor wins Senior Investigator Award.

Prof. Colin Taylor has obtained a Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator Award. These awards support exceptional, world-class researchers who work on the most important questions about health and disease. Our congratulations!





Dr Hendrik van Veen promoted to Readership.

We are delighted to announce the promotion of Dr Hendrik van Veen to a Readership with effect from 1st October 2013.




everettDr Lesley MacVinish wins Pilkington Prize.

In recognition for her contribution to outstanding teaching within the Department, the Faculty of Biology awarded Dr Lesley MacVinish the University’s Pilkington Prize for Teaching in 2013. A big Congratulations to her.



garfield- dr al.jpg

Prof. Robin Irvine wins Dutch medal. 

Congratulations to Prof. Robin Irvine, who has been awarded the Van Deenen medal by the Institute of Biomembranes in Utrecht. In honour of Prof Laurens L.M. van Deenen, pioneer in biomembrane research in the Netherlands, the Institute of Biomembranes annually awards this medal to a leading scientist in biomembrane research. With this medal Robin will follow in the footsteps of other scientific giants.



Michaelmas 2012 



Pharmacology student wins Biotechnology YES competition.

Congratulations to PhD student Alap Chavda (CWT lab) who was the leader of the University of Cambridge team that won this year's Biotechnology Young Entrepreneurs (YES) scheme. The team's hypothetical company Calvitium Solutions won the top prize of £1,000 for their business idea for a hair loss prevention product. The competition was judged by a panel of experts from academia and industry. The team also won the prize for 'Best consumer product'. The team will now represent the UK in the International Rice Business Plan Competition, which is taking place in Houston, Texas, in April.
Press release
Team 'Calvitium Solutions': Left to right - Anastasiia Kamenska, Alap Chavda, Ajoeb Baridi, Liam Hurst,  Linsey Porter. Image: Tim Gander 2012.