skip to primary navigationskip to content

Women in Pharmacology

Read about some of the inspirational past and present women from the Department of Pharmacology in Cambridge University 


Dr Giovanna Zinzalla is a visiting researcher in the Department of Pharmacology, collaborating with Prof. Laura Itzhaki to target transcription factors for therapeutic intervention. readmore



Professor Laura Itzhaki recently became our Head of Department in Pharmacology, continuing her hugely successful academic career. After completing her undergraduate degree at the University of Oxford, Laura moved to the University of Cambridge, Department of Biochemistry for her PhD. readmore


Dr Peace Atakpa holds a highly prised Junior Research Fellowship at Emmanuel College, and is undertaking her post‐doctoral research in the Taylor laboratory in the Department of Pharmacology. Originally from Nigeria, Peace completed her undergraduate studies in the University of Liverpool, before moving to Cambridge University for her PhD, funded by the Cambridge European and International Trust. readmore

IMG 6436

Dr Sampurna Chakrabarti is an incredibly successful former member of the Pharmacology Department. Originally from Kolkata, India, Sam completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Buffalo, and was then awarded a Gates Cambridge PhD studentship. readmore


Lesley 5

Dr Lesley MacVinish is a Senior Teaching Associate in the Department of Pharmacology and Fellow of Wolfson College. Lesley has been a longstanding member of the department and we will be sad to see her go at the end of 2020. We interviewed Lesley and asked her about her time working in Pharmacology. readmore

Proud holders of Athena SWAN Bronze


RSS Feed Latest news

Designer proteins to seek and destroy

Apr 16, 2021

A new BBSRC-funded project aims to exploit de novo designed proteins to control protein-protein interactions in new ways...

Dr Matt Harris

Apr 15, 2021

Congratulations to Dr Matt Harris...

GRC Connects

Apr 08, 2021

GRC Connects: Multi-Drug Efflux Systems Efflux Pumps at the Forefront of Antibiotic Resistance and Pharmacotherapy in a Global Health Crisis...

Changes can be detected in BRCA1 breast cells before they turn cancerous

Mar 09, 2021

Researchers may have found the earliest changes that occur in seemingly healthy breast tissue long before any tumours appear, according to a new study published in Nature Communications today...

LGBTQ+ STEM Spotlight Webinar

Feb 05, 2021

In celebration of UK LGBT History month, the Pharmacology Equality and Diversity Committee & partners to host an LGBTQ+ STEM Spotlight Webinar...

View all news